top of page
Search

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo Review

So, this book definitely lived up to its hype for me. I wasn’t sure what to expect since I knew it was part of the Grishaverse. I just finished the Shadow and Bone trilogy, and while it’s set in the same universe, the story is a totally different ballgame. It’s the perfect combination of fantasy and true crime.

With the Shadow and Bone series, I didn’t connect with the characters until the third book, Ruin and Rising. However, with Six of Crows, there was an instant connection with all of the main characters. They are an unlikely mix of outcasts, all with the right amount of baggage and back story for amazing character arcs. The story started out strong and remained so until the last page. It ended on a cliffhanger, so it’s good that I already have the second book. It would’ve been hard to wait if I read this a few years ago when it was first published.



I’m not going to go into a synopsis, but I do want to discuss the characters and their enneagram numbers. All my enneagram information comes from the Enneagram Institute: https://www.enneagraminstitute.com/type-descriptions


My character enneagram analysis includes some spoilers:


Kaz Brekker: 6

Loyalty is definitely important to Kaz. That’s pretty clear with his opening scene. Trusting people is not something Kaz does, even though he’s surrounded by a group that trusts him enough to lead them through an impossible heist.





Inej Ghafa: 4

I had to think about her possible enneagram number, and I’m thinking a 4. She tends to withdraw from the group, and act on her own. She’s constantly dreaming of a different life, which is her motivation for most of what she does in this story.


Jesper Fahey: 8

I had to do some thinking with Jesper’s character as well, but I do think 8 is the best answer. My main reason for this is that according to Enneagram Institute, an 8’s basic fear is being controlled by others. It’s revealed toward the end of the story that Jesper is an untrained Fabrikator. He’s spent his entire life hiding this part of himself because of Grisha oppression. Also, he’s always bragging and showing his skills with guns. When he’s forced to work with Wylan, he’s constantly running his mouth about Wylan’s incompetence, but Wylan proves him wrong in the end. I’m excited to see where this budding friendship goes in the Crooked Kingdom.


Nina Zenik: 7

I love this character. I’m saying she’s a 7 just because she’s all about having a good time wherever she goes, and despite the circumstances. She’s impulsive for sure, and that gets them out of a major bind at the end, but she has to pay the consequences. Based on the Enneagram Institute, 7s can become most critical of 1s. Enter, Matthias..



Matthias Helvar: 1

I didn’t have to think much about Matthias’ number. His main motivation is to not be corrupt and evil which is why he resists his feelings toward Nina. His religion tells him that Grisha are evil witches and their very existence is an abomination. His backstory with Nina makes for some pretty intense chemistry. I loved his character arc at the end of the story.



Wylan Van Eck: 9

Wylan is definitely the peacemaker of the group and goes with the flow. I’d say he’s on the healthier end of his enneagram number than the rest of the group. He’s been forced to make tough decisions, however, based on his circumstances. A 9’s basic fear is loss and separation, Wylan had to face that fear at the end of this book.


I’m so looking forward to starting the Crooked Kingdom!






0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page